A New Beginning

Well, here I am…after weeks of merely considering having a blog, and then even more weeks of finding just the perfect name for my site, (which actually came to me in a matter of minutes, after all those many weeks), here we are…me and my first post in a “real” blog.

So why now?  Why “withmealways”?  And what is my inspiration and reason for the blog?  I am currently carrying our third child, and since the end of week 21 (9 weeks ago), the couch has been my constant companion.  Since I have plenty of relaxing/thinking time, this seems to be the perfect to start something new…especially since this is something that I can actually do while laying on this couch!

The significance of the name, “with me always”: In the many weeks that I have been on bed rest, it has been abundantly clear to us (and the doctors) that it is God who is holding this baby inside of me, and not my own body.  I have experienced a grace and strength and peace unlike anything I have ever known, and it is only because of that that I have not gone crazy lying on this couch!  One day, while listening to music, the song “Safe” came on, by Phil Wickham.  The chorus has this phrase: “You will be safe in His arms…This is the promise He made, He will be with you always.”  Having felt the real-ness of that, it just felt right.

The past one and a half years have been a time of deep, spiritual growth for Kenton and I, bringing many changes for our whole family.  In this journey, we have seen the importance of two things: praising God and acknowledging God.  Psalm 71 is full of verses of David saying his mouth is always filled with praise to God, and he will proclaim God’s righteousness and faithfulness all day long and to the next generation.  These verses come between verses of desperation and David crying out to God to save him and deliver him.  Praising is not always easy; but the reward and breakthrough come when you praise even when it’s hard and nothing makes sense.  It comes when you praise anyway because you know who God is and what His character is, and that far outweighs what the circumstances are at the time!

When we acknowledge what God is doing in our lives (Proverbs 3:6)…when we verbally express to others how God shows up in our daily lives, room is made for Him to show up again and again, and to continue doing His wonderful work!  (There is much more we have learned in the past 1.5 years, but “praising and acknowledging God” are two things I can express on this blog).

In short, my goal for my blog is to publicly praise God and acknowledge Him for what He is doing in our lives.  It may not always look like sunshine and roses, but I’m thankful for a forgiving and loving God who carries me in the storms and through the thorny path! Along the way, I’ll share what He has done in the past and how He continues to show Himself to us today.  You’ll also get an inside look into our family…the wonderful, the crazy, the fun, the hard, the silly…you know, life with a 4-year-old, and one on the way.

Thanks for joining me on this journey!

–sherri

8 thoughts on “A New Beginning

  1. hey girl! wow, i didnt know u were on bedrest but praise God He is keeping you n little one safe! i loved seeing your new blog. hugs…

  2. Love this! Be praying for you. I didn’t realize you were having trouble with this little one. I always thought bed rest would be so hard to go through when your pregnant. Hugs! Hoping and praying that every thing goes well for you and your babe.

    • Yes, it is hard in that I want to be up taking care of my family. But I am so amazed at how the days speed by and how God’s strength & grace is very real for our whole family. Because of that and all the help we have, it’s amazing how easy it is! It’s only because of Him!

  3. I am excited you started a new blog! And I am so blessed by your restful heart through your bedrest. So many women would be complaining and talking about how hard they have it, but you are choosing to look at it through a heart of gratitude, and that is just so challenging! ♥

    • Yes, Clarita, here I am. And thanks for all your advice! 🙂 The quote that you had on your blog the other day about gratitude reaffirmed my/our desire to give thanks to God for the little (and big) things…choosing to see God in every thing. It’s life changing!

Leave a Reply

